Building Rome: Wait…what week is it?

20141017_184401

It has come to my attention that I have no freaking clue what day I check in with my goals on. So from now on, it’s Mondays. Ahh Mondays. That shitty, shitty day where you remember you haven’t won the lottery and you have to get up at 630am again. Or in my case, when the snooze button runs out. Which is approximately 15 minutes after first alarm, but a good while before second alarm. Second alarm is set for the last conceivable minute that I can get up, tie my hair in a knot, run a washcloth over myself, and leave the house decent enough not to cause alarm to the general populace.

It should only be used in extreme cases.

But I digress.

Here are my goals from last week, from the Building Rome event hosted by the lovely Green Embers,  and how I did on them:

  • I will not spend any money. After the Finland debacle, I’ve been very careful with this one. Mission accomplished. 
  • I will go to crossfit twice this week. Nailed it!  
  • I will bring my lunch each day this week. Also a gold star on this one. Have not missed a single day of packing my own lunch. Even though I eat in the company cafeteria with everyone else and the heavy, eastern-European cashier who looks like an extra on Orange is the New Black makes me hold open my containers for her. Yeah right. Like I would steal that food. Bitch, please. 
  • I will continue Sober October. This is going to be a BIG test. I am going to the Whiskey Festival with friends on Friday, and a very good friend is visiting this weekend. Not just any friend, an Irish friend. I have decided that for Friday and Saturday nights, “sobriety” will mean two standard drinks. Just for those two days, and only because these two events are pretty rare and special.  OKaaaay. So. This one. Huh. Well, I not only tumbled off the wagon, I hit every sleeper on the track during the night of the whiskey festival. The glorious, delicious whiskey festival. I literally don’t know how many I had, but it was enough to cause a bone-crushing headache the next day. And to not remember taking at least half the pictures I found on my mobile the next day. Which mainly involved hands holding whiskey glasses. Case in point at the top. I didn’t notice the middle finger. That’s what happens when you drink with boys. Aaaand, then I drank again the next day and the next. Not half as much. Just two drinks on Saturday and one on Sunday. But then I dusted myself off and got back on the wagon, and rode it clean through to Friday. When I tumbled off it again. This time I only had a single Moscow Mule. And now I am back on it again. 

I would like to give myself extra credit here, because I did not drink on Sunday. Not even when a bird flew into my apartment. An actual bird. Which then totally panicked and started smacking itself against the window. The closed one. Not the open one it had just flown in through. I am PETRIFIED of birds. And there was no-one here with me, and my distress calls went unanswered. Mostly because I am not sure any sound actually came out of my mouth. For the next ten minutes, this bird and I moved around each other with flaps and screams and ducking, while I tried to get the window open wider for it, and it shat on the sofa, floor, and coffee table and did laps of the kitchen. Eventually when the door was wide open, I cautiously retreated and then curled into a ball on the floor. As soon as the thing FINALLY flew out, I got up and slapped the window shut and so it shall remain forevermore. Most terrifying moments of  my life to date. And I had a whiskey bottle in my hand thirty seconds afterward. But I talked myself down. The strength this required cannot be underestimated.

  • I will add fermented food to my diet 3 times a week. Done! I’ve been eating sauerkraut and drinking kombucha at least 3 times a week. 
  • I will do at least one page on any of my creative writing projects. Done! I have been outlining in preparation for National Novel Writing month. Which is a new goal below. 
  • Complete my German homework, and watch a half hour episode of a familiar show in German. Nope. Didn’t even go near this. Apologies to my darling German teacher. I will do better this week, Carmen, I promise.

And on to this week’s goals! We’ve got some big ones here.

  1. Go to crossfit three times.
  2. Bring my lunch each day.
  3. Eat fermented food three times a week.
  4. Eat NO grains. (I’ve actually already been doing this for three weeks. I feel like a NEW person.)
  5. Get my outline ready for Nanowrimo. I am going to attempt to write a novel in 30 days. Anyone else out there doing this?! I need some buddies!
  6. Continue Sober October until the end of October.

I think that’s enough for now, don’t you? 🙂 Good luck on your goals!

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Goal-setting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. There is no shame in not hitting them all every week. We’re human and shit happens. 🙂 I think you did a really great job and I’m proud of you. I’m also jealous because I imagine you have access to far superior sauerkraut than I can get here and that is one of my favorite foods.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay… so I really shouldn’t laugh, but your description of the Whiskey Festival cracked me up. I think you have a good humor about it. It sounds like you’re back on the wagon, so you are already doing better than me with food! 😀

    Sorry, but I am going to decline the nano invitation, last year did not work for me at all. I wish you the best success though! 😀

    Like

    • Darn it! Hopefully there is a sucker out there silly enough to try nano with me! Name yourself, stranger!
      Oh the whiskey festival was fantastic. But I got really excited thinking I had found a new bottle to keep at home as a regular… Then I learned it was “between 120 & 160€ a bottle” . So no. Not now. Maybe Christmas next year. Or when I finish not spending in august. 🙂

      Like

  3. Congratulations on hitting your goals. That is truly fantastic.

    Like

  4. Well, I salute you! You have so many goals and projects on the go that it makes my head spin. Not to mention all the cooking you’re doing as well. I seem to be going flat out but can’t list what I’m doing like you can 😦 Good job!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

