Something bad happened in Finland

image

image

image

So I had an amazing time in Finland, as you can see here. The forest was lit up with the colours of autumn the day we went mushroom hunting.  Yeah. That’s a thing in Finland. I was given a quick lesson by my friends, as to which mushrooms not to touch. That giant red one in the second picture is really poisonous.  One of the few poisonous mushrooms in Finland. I was delighted to find a giant patch of the exact mushroom kind we were looking for, and we put them into our little basket and made a risotto with them later that night.

Then the bad thing happened. My friends, who are expecting any day now, stopped by Ikea on the way home to grab some baby things. And I got separated from the herd. When I connected with them again, it was too late. My basket was full and my purse was wide open.

Here’s what I bought:

image

Now, stay with me as I justify every purchase.

1. Limited edition sheet sets. They match not only my rug but my whole apartment. And I accidentally boiled the only set I had on a 90°c washing setting with an orange blazer. I think you can guess the rest.

2. Lunch boxes that go directly from the freezer to the microwave.  I’m enjoying cooking in bulk and freezing at the moment. And actually, bringing my lunch to work each day is a goal of mine. And I didn’t have enough things to store my cooking in.

3. A meat thermometre. Basically so I don’t poison myself in the kitchen.

4.  These bottles handily labelled themselves.  System 4 is a famous Finnish shampoo that improves scalp circulation and stimulates hair growth. I ain’t bald, but tell me someone who doesn’t want thicker hair and I will show you a big fat liar. Oops! There are two 4s. The second is a scented candle. That’s essential, right? It smells like heaven if that makes a difference.

5. Variously-sized zip-lock freezer bags. Again, for cooking. Less space than lunch boxes. And more labellable.  Which is now a word.

6. Thermos for taking soup to work. My old one stopped closing properly. 

7. A funnel to get the soup into said thermos. Previously my counter top ate more soup than the average German.

8. Those handy clippy things that seal open bags.

So you see, it’s nothing frivolous.  But still, I feel like I’ve failed. Like I’ve fallen off the wagon.

I need a little encouragement here!

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on October 8, 2014, in Game on, My Purse is Closed and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Everyone slips up from time to time….it doesn’t make you a shopper. If you had to rationalize something like this every week… then, you’d be a shopper.
    Also, on the path to something better, you might swerve off the path while looking at the scenery. It happens.
    You’re still going a great job. Hang in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You didn’t buy shoes, or clothes, or yarn – so yes, total win in my book. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of it is justifiable…even the scented candle. I mean, if the electricity goes off, you want a bit of light and a pleasantly scented room, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There’s nothing there that’s frivolous. Everything is justifiable, so I think nothing bad happened in Finland. Congratulations, I think you’re getting very wise with your purse strings 🙂

    Like

  5. ok, it feels a little like a AA meeting – but lets restart your days count again – “Hi, my name is Sian, it’s been XX days since I spent anything. My previous attempt was xx.” But seriously going to Ikea is the worst possible place you could have gone too! They have sooo much great stuff! I am just lucky that the nearest one is in Sydney! ya doing well chicky, Mwah!

    Like

    • Haha! Stacey I love this approach. I was just thinking that I needed to write down a list for myself of all the reasons I started this in the first place. That’s an AA step, right? 😉
      Thanks for your support!!x

      Like

  6. All essential sis. Well, your writing convinced me 🙂 Truly, you have made such a change in your spending and you should keep at it. Very proud.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Building Rome – Back on the rails | My Purse is Closed

Leave a comment