Building Rome – my first goal list

Photo Credit: Paolo Margari via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Paolo Margari via Compfight cc

There are several things I know about myself.

  1. I would get my pinky toes surgically straightened if that was a thing
  2. I need whiskey in the apartment
  3. If I am stressed or upset about something, even without realising it, I: smoke, lose sleep/sleep poorly, obsessively think about what has upset me, drink (more than usual), cry easily over ridiculous things like a shoelace snapping, get short-tempered with people I love, laugh very little, get a break out, get a cold sore and avoid time alone.

I was going to make my very first Building Rome goals list more about getting over my breakup. But I have done an internal checklist and realised that actually…I’m not going through any of these things. I have no idea why, but I am happy, I am spending lots of time alone, I’m not really drinking, I’m not thinking about things, and I only really genuinely wish him well. He was a fun addition to my life while we were together. I seem to have nothing to get past and work on. Hooray for me!

However, the rest of my life is something of a shit show. Well, in some areas anyway. So now that I am joining in on the game, my goals are more about my life ambitions. And my body and general health. Here they are (inspired by* the Mental Mama category system):

  1. Financial: I will not spend any money (obeying these rules)
  2. Fitness: I will go to crossfit three times next week
  3. Creative: I will get started (one page min) on the outline for the TV series idea I have
  4. Health: I will take my own lunch to work each day next week
  5. Creative 2: I will write 2 pages for my chapter of the book I am cowriting with one of my BFFs.

There. Getting those done for a week will make me feel pretty awesome!

It’s a short week too, since I’m in Finland until Monday night. On something of an extreme holiday. Not in the usual sense of adventure sports, but because the girlfriend I am going to visit is severely pregnant and a small human could pop out of her at any moment. The very idea that I could be called upon to be of service in a birthing situation gives me cold sweats. Come on little girl, hang in there until I am on the plane home! 🙂

 

*totally copied.

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on October 2, 2014, in Goal-setting, My Purse is Closed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That’s pretty awesome you’re doing so well. It is good to get away and visit friends too (although wishing you luck on your request because I fully understand that one, lol). Got some good looking goals there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You totally swiped my idea for the categories – excellent! 😀 Thievery is a form of flattery, right?

    Like

    • Oops! I did! Truth be told yours is the only list I have seen and I liked the way it was laid out. I actually meant to say something, but then whiskey. Sooooo, as you can see I have hopped into my time machine and given credit where credit’s due! 😀

      Like

  3. Good on you Siân for setting goals. That’s one thing I haven’t done this year, so maybe I’ll get in early for next and start thinking about them now. You’re an inspiration!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Building Rome – Back on the rails | My Purse is Closed

Leave a Reply

