If I spend in a forest and noone sees it, did it really happen?

Photo Credit: Gabriela Gattaneo via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Gabriela Gattaneo via Compfight cc

It’s just about a month since I committed to not spending. I haven’t seen any benefits yet (see previous post for reasons why), but I feel inordinately proud of myself…for a person who has achieved nothing at all!

But I do have a slight confession to make.

Past Sian had ordered and paid for a couple of skirts from H&M. They subsequently got put on back-order and she forgot them. They were delivered last week. Now, after unpacking them, Present Sian realised she wasn’t that into them any more, so sent them back.

That should, I guess, technically speaking, have been money that I just plugged off my debt. However! I needed a new pair of shoes for a wedding. Hear me out! This was not just “I have nothing to wear” it was literally “I only have motorcycle boots or flip-flops and neither are appropriate footwear for a wedding where I will meet my boyfriend’s family for the first time.”

So I bought a pair of appropriate, lady-like, please let me keep sleeping with your son type shoes. I came out even, financially speaking, so I technically did not spend anything…even though I bought something.

What do you think? Did I cheat??

Further to this, would people please stop inventing cool shit? I just saw this on Kickstarter: the memobottle. Is “donating” to Kickstarter in return for a copy of the product being developed, classified as spending? Is it? I’ve decided to refrain at the moment, but holy hell, if you start looking around that site, you end up with your purse wide open before you even know what you’re doing. People are amazing!

I have also started attempting to trick my brain into thinking it’s spending, by building up a virtual wardrobe. After being introduced to the concept of Capsule Wardrobes over at Un-Fancy, I have decided to use my year of financial celibacy to perfect the idea and get a better sense of my style. And the great part is, I can do it without spending money!

I scoured online shops and selected the 37 pieces she recommends for a good capsule (“9 pairs of shoes, 9 bottoms, and 15 tops…2 dresses and 2 jackets/coats”), and pinned them to a pinterest board I started for the purpose. Then I added the pictures to an app I already had on my phone – Stylicious. The app lets you classify the clothes into tops, bottoms and shoes, and then scroll through the 3 layers on 3 wheels to mix and match until you find a combination you like. You then clip them together and you’ve got an outfit! Here are my ongoing efforts, but please don’t laugh at my inability to crop!

And lastly an update on the story of the worst neighbours and landlady ever. I STILL do not have my bond back, and they are STILL in discussions about the rental contract. Honestly, the fucking Kyoto Protocol was signed in less time than this!

Please keep your fingers crossed for me – or, as they do in German, your thumbs pressed!

 

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on September 8, 2014, in Game on, My Purse is Closed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I’m sure this won’t make you feel better, but I sucked at the “no spending” thing this week as well. No shoes for me, but I’ve decided I pretty well hate everything in this house.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s weird isn’t it – I go through phases of hating everything in the house, and then suddenly it becomes invisible to me, but I totally hate my hair or clothes. I think when everything’s going really well for me and I am not under stress, I move up Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs and start looking around for things to change! Can you shuffle your furniture around or put a throw over some stuff?

      Like

      • A lot of times that’s exactly what I do. I’ll rearrange the smaller pieces, like the stuff on the walls, or change where some of my treasures are. And quite often it works. But I’ve been missing having a headboard for the bed since I had to get a new bed and could only afford a frame. The wall decals aren’t truly a headboard, but they fill the empty space on the wall in the same way and, to my credit, I got them for not quite $10US and I had a few pieces left over to redo the upstairs bath as well. I’m going to be taking pics shortly.

        Like

    • Hmm. The system won’t let me reply to your most recent post, only edit it! 😦 Weird. Oh I love decals! Can’t wait to see pics. I have been lusting after this one http://www.servusheimat.com/produkte/wohn-und-dekorationsartikel/alpenpanorama-tapete.html, but for obvious reasons cannot buy it!

      Like

  2. I think you’ve been wise with your refund and bought something you needed. A pat on the back for that one! 🙂 Keep it up!

    The land lady saga… is there such a thing as a tribunal there in Germany? It’s past the reasonable stage and they’re just witholding your money for the sake of being mean!

    Like

  3. There are shoes that let you keep sleeping with someone….? If I buy them, can I start sleeping with someone? Where is this shoe store? Where?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am going to try that app. I always try to have a definite invisable line in my wardrobe to keep my work clothes and normal clothes seperate… maybe the app can help. Great going Sian. Very proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Stacey! 😀 I am rather proud of myself. Although now I want every single thing on my wish list!! I find it hard to separate work and play clothes, but I do find that once I’ve worn something to the office it’s kind of tainted for me. I think I need a clear line as well – good call.

      Like

  5. Wen you described the clothing software, I had a flashback to the Clueless movie where she picks out her outfits via a computer and rotating clothing rails. Funny how little techie things like that become possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

