Danger

20140811_191945

This is my cute new little apartment (not the best picture. And ignore the packing boxes on the balcony – they get collected next week). I feel like I am living in a treehouse! It’s incredibly quiet and peaceful and green and warm and solidly built. It’s pretty small, at 45sqm (484 square feet), but feels quite big to me. And I bought a bit of new furniture for it too. The high-backed arm chair and matching footstool, along with some new shelving for the kitchen, and the yellow overhead lights. Beautiful. 

And then I started my year without spending…

And this morning I realised, crap! I don’t have anything on the walls. No nice shelves, no pretty artwork, no big unusual clock. I could also use a third overhead light in the middle of the room, as it’s a little dark over the arm chair which is where I have been doing my writing when it’s cold outside. 

And Kmart in Australia decided to produce some gorgeous, really affordable furniture. This shelf below is only $29! Australian dollars! That’s about 15euro. And I need it! I genuinely need something on the walls.

Oh my goodness. This would go so perfectly in my new apartment.

So I have taken a deep breath and decided to think about alternatives.  

I have a stack of my Instagram pictures printed on card. I can tack these onto the walls above the bed or sofa. Or perhaps use some twine and paperclips and string them into a nice design. 

I also unearthed my old cuckoo clock! I can mount it and make a nice feature of it.

And I have two standing lamps in the living room…I can just shuffle one a little closer to the armchair when I write. 

There are going to be other solutions. But I hadn’t expected this to be so hard already just three days in!! I definitely would have tried to find something similar to the round shelf, or had my family post it to me from Australia. I would have tried to find something on the local Amazon.de. Oh dear…like these honeycomb shelves. These would look great with some white ivy hanging out of them. 

Ok! I gotta run – I have some tacking to do!

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on August 13, 2014, in Game on, My Purse is Closed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have to admit, they are cute, but I’d like to see how your ideas work out. It seems you have a flair for home decorating and your ideas would mean you’re keeping to your cause. First step taken, well done!

    Like

  2. Do they have “freecycle” where you live? This is a site on which people can give away things they no longer need. Maybe someone doesn’t need some shelves.

    I am quite sure that you can make something cool to fill your wall space.

    Like

    • Oh Anthony, that’s a great idea! I used to use freecycle in Sydney. There’s not one here as far as I can tell, but there is a facebook group for people in Munich with stuff to give away, and a classified section on the big expat forum here. Going to check them out today 🙂 Thanks!

      Like

  3. Due to my technical ineptitude, here’s a comment from @ShinyTinyMansion http://shinytinymansion.com/ (I can’t even put hyperlinks in here!)

    Second hand stores my Luv! Don’t create a box around yourself to need think outside of. In fact be literal, find some really cheap little wooden boxes (jewelry, kid’ stackers, trays. . . in all sorts of different woods, turn them with the opening facing you and screw them to the wall. BOOM, super cool shelves with personality, like you and your apartment. Who wants new crap with no life in it? And if you insist, paint them all the same color – maybe 5-10 Euro at most, and you will have a unique shelving unit that NO one else will own ~ Plus, you got your creative on!!!! BOOM again

    Like

Leave a Reply

