And we’re off!

image

Photo Credit: RichSeattle via Compfight cc

Shit just got real, yo. It’s begun. Wasn’t off to the best start after I did several stupid things in a row:

– Sat on my glasses
– Turned on the iron while it was still in its protective plastic (messy. not recommended).
– Dropped my bikini trimmer from a great height and smashed it to smithereens (I refuse to grow…”it” out)

But with those hiccups in the rearview, off we go!

I have of course already found several things that I desperately want and would definitely have bought myself if not for this new resolve. Yesterday after my dermatologist appointment, I sat myself in the little “prepare your face for public consumption room” and slathered the most beautiful, creamy, light, dewy makeup over my skin. I hadn’t even been in there for my face (I’ve had an outbreak of reactive dermatitis on my hands – HOT!) but the bottle looked pretty and the room is adjacent to the toilet, so I tried it. It was perfectly matched to my skin tone and evened out all my blemishes. It made my dry skin look moist and radiant. I was like me, just better! I photographed the bottle and colour number and set off for the nearest store…and then remembered. I’m Scrooge McDuck now. I can’t have it. I have five other bottles of perfectly good makeup in my overflowing bathroom cabinet. Once they’re all gone, and only once they’re all REALLY gone, will I allow myself to buy this.

Then I got a notification from my favourite online store telling me a clothing item on my wish list had been reduced in price! OMG! It’s like, 25% cheaper now than it was the first time I wanted it! And I still want it! No. Instead I dutifully deleted my entire wish list…a little part of me dying with every click.

Then I finished reading this great book by Mary Roach and decided to read some of her other stuff! She’s got a book on the Alimentary Canal!* She edited the 2011 edition of the Best American Science and Nature Writing! No! You can’t have them. Sit down and go through your bookshelves again. There are most definitely books there that you’ve bought and haven’t read yet!

Sigh. It’s going to be a looong ride. Life can be really hard in a wealthy first-world country with no social issues and comparative gender equality for a steadily-employed girl in full health and happiness, don’t you think? Just gonna have to tough it out!

 

*It has been helpfully pointed out to me several times that I have strange taste in reading material. I don’t think it can be that strange when Stiff was a #1 best seller. But if your tastes run the same way, here are some others I have LOVED. Would appreciate any recommendations too…for me to buy next year, of course 😉

The Killer of Little Shepherds

The Poisoner’s Handbook

Mutants: On Genetic Variety in the Human Body

The Medical Detectives

Homicide

 

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on August 12, 2014, in Game on, My Purse is Closed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. After reading your blog entry here, I had to…just HAD to go up to my bathroom, check on the 1,278 different cosmetics and jars of skin slather…and immediately regret it all. SIGH. Great entry, btw.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t worry about getting off to a “good start”. You started. That’s amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your start (btw, I love the picture!)

    You do read interesting books.

    Like

  1. Pingback: What’s this blog about? | My Purse is Closed

Leave a Reply

