You don’t run the google?

Despite being a moderately intelligent person, there are a surprising number of things I’m pretty innocent about. I am a notoriously bad liar, and a dubious judge of character – at least initially. I genuinely believe I’ll be safe no matter where I go or what I do. And that money will keep coming, and that everyone just wants to get along. I absolutely cannot dissemble, although I admit that’s mostly due to apathy.

And I had no idea how closely the internet was watching me!

Sometimes, I would have had a cheeky little peek at a handbag website. Then the next time I was on the webs, an ad for the very same bags I’d been looking at would appear. For an embarrassingly long time, I thought it was all an amazing coincidence. And then the bubble was burst and my innocence was shattered. Frankly, I haven’t been the same since.

So! I have now deactivated the tasty, tasty personalised ads google was offering me. By sorting my shit out here: http://www.google.com/ads/preferences.

Similar options are available for Yahoo! http://info.yahoo.com/privacy/us/yahoo/opt_out/targeting/details.html, Apple http://oo.apple.com  and Microsoft http://choice.live.com.

All of which will help me keep this purse of mine firmly closed. Impenetrable, if you will.

You’re welcome.
Header Image Photo Credit: thewhitestdogalive via Compfight cc

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on July 16, 2014, in My Purse is Closed, Preparation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

