My word, there’s lots to unsubscribe from

The Email

One day my boyfriend saw my inbox. And commented that there was really a LOT of shit in there. Promos, coupons, offers, sales, product updates, discounts, invitations, catalogues and lookbooks. I realised that I had essentially subscribed to every single possible retail outlet in the universe.

I receive emails from Zara, TopShop, Mango, Hart&Heim, Zalando, AbeBooks, Better World Books, Amazon, Office Shoes, Gap, Boots, Shoes of Prey, Westwing, Lufthansa, Momondo, Bloglovin, Asos, H&M, Ikea, eBay, Oasis, Marc O’Polo, Urban Outfitters, art.com, society6, Glossybox, Sephora, Douglas, Home24….you get the picture. Not to even mention instagram, pinterest or polyvore.

There’s a reason I get all these things to my inbox. I am a DAMN good customer! I’ve made purchases at most of those places. And a lot of them have been late night, whiskey-in-hand impulse purchases.

Believe it or not, I HATE shopping. As in, walking into physical stores and dealing with people and queues and snooty sales staff (seriously?! you work in retail!) and “they’ve only got XXL or XXS left” problems and mannequins that startle me every. single. time. I’m pretty claustrophobic and I am not good with crowds. Or pleasantries. I hate people who don’t know how to use the escalator. I hate people who think the absolute MIDDLE of an aisle is a great place to stop. I hate people who walk three-abreast, and slowly. I hate digging through piles of weird crap and I hate trying to visualise how something would look as an outfit, or with my sofa.

It is SO damn easy to go online, click a couple of preferences and find the perfect green blouse, or mustard cushion. If I’m not sure, I can just look at the video of the girl wearing it, or I can click on polyvore and pull an outfit together myself. Or type “how to style a bobble rug” into pinterest and have a million sweet options.

But this convenience, coupled with the fact that most places here let me buy on invoice, means that I will often find a HUGE chunk of pay gone before the money even hits my account. I have a decent job for a great company, so my salary is and has always been relatively good. So my bank lets me have an overdraft. And the cycle continues.

Now, I’m trying to stop it. ONE little unsubscribe at a time.

Header Image Photo Credit: thewhitestdogalive via Compfight cc

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on July 15, 2014, in My Purse is Closed, Preparation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

