My game, my rules

Rules

I’m just not playing this “life” game if there’s no whiskey. It’s as simple as that. There must always be alcohol in the apartment.

I have devised myself a set of rules, which I find to be just and fair. Also, they’re mine – and are therefore just and fair.

NOT included in the My Purse is Closed 12 month challenge:

  • Alcohol – see above. I actually class this under groceries
  • Food – duh
  • Entertainment – I can still go out, see a movie, take a trip
  • Skincare – this is limited to replacing things that run out
  • Anything medical

What IS included in my challenge:

  • Anything new
  • New clothes
  • New shoes
  • New books – not even a really cheap kindle deal!
  • New music/albums/downloads
  • New apps that cost money
  • New household items – even something as small as a garlic press, or a shower curtain. OUT!
  • New jewellery
  • New haircare products
  • New makeup
  • New animals
  • New body parts

OK, we all get the picture. Unless it is life-sustaining, or involves my skin (we only get one!), it’s out. My Purse (drumroll please) is closed!

Header Image Photo Credit: thewhitestdogalive via Compfight cc

About colonizethemoon

36 years old. Reformed smoker. Unreformed drinker. Antisocial neighbour. Sometime shower-singer. Speaker of appalling German. On a quest to become a grown up. In all the good ways and none of the bad. Originally from Sydney (via Wales, Spain, and Newcastle, NSW) now living and working in god's country - aka Munich, Germany.

Posted on July 15, 2014, in My Purse is Closed, Preparation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. He he he new body parts 😛

    Like

  2. My purse is also closed for different reasons. The very reason I started my one blog was to help people live better for cheaper and I better get right on that with more posts that are helpful. I’m about to go into foreclosure on my very upside down home. The predatory loan I was given almost 10 years ago is about to come due with much larger payments by over $500 that I cannot make at this time after my job loss a number of years ago. Made the mistake of draining my savings trying to hang onto it with part time jobs and unemployment for a while. Now I am looking for a small apartment and in the meantime “Must Not Spend” is my mantra as well. I’ve been on strict budgets before so I am very good at avoiding temptations as they arise. I wish you luck in finding a home and be sure to research as much as you can before making the plunge. You appear to be intelligent so don’t think anyone will get anything past you when you are finally ready. God bless!

    Like

    • Oh what a terrible thing you’ve been through, but it sounds like you’ve got the grit and determination to set it all right. Thanks for your encouragement and I look forward to reading about your journey!

      Like

  1. Pingback: T minus 4 days | My Purse is Closed

  2. Pingback: What’s this blog about? | My Purse is Closed

Leave a Reply

